Match Day 31: Floriana 4 Naxxar 1

    Match Day 31: Floriana 4 Naxxar 1

    27th April 2015

    Floriana returned to winning way as they came back from one goal down to beat Naxxar Lions 4-1.

    Despite this the Greens are now mathematically out of contention for a place in the Europa League as Balzan managed to overcome Hibernians to clinch the fourth place.


    Naxxar held the initiative in the early stages, taking the lead on the 19th minute through Daren Falzon who beat Senatore from close range when served by Gilmar.


    However six minutes from the end of the first half, Floriana levelled matters when off an assist by Matteo Piciollo, Igor Coronado’s rising shot beat Azzopardi.


    Just before half-time, the Greens went ahead of the first time when off a cross by Conor Borg, the ball reached Igor Coronado who hit home from close range.


    Ten minutes in the second half, Igor Coronado increased the lead with a shot from outside the area from the right which was not held by Azzopardi.


    Four minutes later, Matteo Piciollo made it 4-1 with a rising shot from a close angle from the right.



    Floriana FC Line Up:


    Valerio Senatore, Douglas Felipe Moreira Cobo, Emerson Marcelina, Igor Coronado (70′ Gary Muir), Matteo Piciollo, Conor Borg, Manuel Briffa (79′ Daniel Agius), Giovanni Galea, Sacha Borg, Steve Bonnici, Manolito Micallef (88′ Glen Tabone).


    BOV Player of the Match: Igor Coronado

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player